Blogs > Minor Matters

Run by The Trentonian's Nick Peruffo, this blog will provide daily multimedia coverage of the Trenton Thunder.

Tuesday, October 29, 2013

Thunder win MiLBY for Team of the Year, Akron changes name

The Thunder got another bit of recognition for their Eastern League championship run Tuesday, being named the MiLB Fans Choice Team of the Year after an online fan vote. 

Manager Tony Franklin’s club finished second to the Binghamton Mets in the EL East, but ended the season with nine-straight wins, including a sweeps of the B-Mets in the EL wildcard series and the Harrisburg Senators in the championship series. The title was the Thunder’s third in seven years, all under Franklin.

The honor was part of the MiLB’s annual MiLBY awards. The Thunder received 22 percent of the fan vote, besting the GCL Nationals (16 percent), Savannah Sand Gnats (10), Durham Bulls (10), Daytona Cubs (9), Salem Red Sox (7), Quad Cities River Bandits (6), Cedar Rapids Kernels (6), Omaha Storm Chasers (5), San Antonio Missions (4), Binghamton (3) and the Pulaski Mariners (2).

The Thunder are also up for two other MiLBY awards, both involving their late bat dog Chase: Promotion of the Year, for Chase’s retirement party, and Mascot Clip of the Year, for Chase’s video tribute.

 The former Akron Aeros will now be known as the Akron RubberDucks, as announced Tuesday. Here is the new logo: